Day 33: Three Reasons Why Everybody Needs Support Sometimes

Standard

This tree looks strong, but somehow it still needs some support!

I like to be the person who has it all together, who doesn’t need much help, and who can be there to encourage others.  The truth is, though, we all need support sometimes.

Unpredictable things happen to us from time to time. These past two weeks, I’ve really needed support. Mind you, I don’t like asking for help, but these two weeks, I’ve needed it.  When unusual circumstances cloud our paths, we need wise people to help guide and support us.  The right words, the confident assurance, and the very presence of a strong supporter can help us stand.

We get involved in something that we can’t do by ourselves. On several occasions, I’ve volunteered for jobs that I knew I could not accomplish by myself.  These are the most challenging and rewarding jobs on earth.  The support of a huge team united to accomplish an excellent event makes lifetime memories and adds to the loveliness of life.

It allows us to deepen our friendships. Being supported, or relying on the help of someone else, makes me feel indebted.  I’m forever grateful to a few people and the deep friendships that developed when they gave me enough support to help me get back up on my feet.  Had I not needed or refused their support, I’d have never known such friends.

Today’s activity requires a list and some reflections. I’m thinking back to six events in my life when I really needed support.  Who do I need to thank in those instances?  Do these supporters really know how much they restored my life and how grateful to God I am for them?  I’m going to add fifteen minutes to my activity and thank one of them for the gift they gave to me!  How about you?  Who helped support you in a great time of need?

“What is a friend? A single soul dwelling in two bodies.” Aristotle

3 responses »

  1. I also find it hard to ask for and accept help from others. But I too have received great blessings when I did so. Great camaraderie happened as a result. Plus when we pooled our resources, time, and talent we were able to accomplish something so much bigger than what we could have done alone!

    I will take on the suggestion to thank someone for the help they’ve given to me!

  2. Pingback: 5 Ways I Take Care of Myself (FFF) « Fruitful Devotion by Pastor Susan

Leave a comment