Day 9: What Do Beauty Sleep and Tyra Banks Have in Common?

Standard

My husband wants me to have hair like Tyra Banks, which I don’t. This initiated a head full of sticky rollers. ”You will not be able to sleep if you wear those to bed,” warned my daughter. I prided myself that I had slept in rollers before and that old ladies do it all the time. Needless to say, I woke up about every thirty minutes. Now with a crick in my neck, I’ll go to church today not looking like Tyra Banks.

These train tracks bring the train that blows its horn around 3:30 a.m.

Last week, we woke up to several different noises. The train blasted its horn at 3:30 a.m., the delivery of a round of fireworks came at about 4:15 a.m. along with another one at about 5:30 Saturday morning, and the new year brought karaoke singing outside our back gate for a few nights well into the early morning. Being centrally located in the Asian city we love makes life more interesting. We have no intentions of trading it for another location any time soon. Right now, the weather is in our favor, and we can walk down the street without even breaking a sweat.

However, there is something to beauty sleep. It improves the brain and the skin. Dr. Matthew Edlund, MD, MOH writes how sleep helps our skin, our brain, and many other aspects of our daily life. Today’s brain challenge relates to sleep.

My list might even put you to sleep!!!! What’s on your list?

Instead of counting sheep to get to sleep, let’s try listing everything that makes us sleepy. Mine will definately include reading anything in Thai for a period of time. Two pages send me snoozing. Make your list and send a comment!

Leave a Reply

