Day 23: Motivated by Love or 3 Reasons We Do Things We Don’t Feel Capable of Doing

Standard

I don’t do wedding cakes!

So why have I made three of them?  I connect my ability to decorate cakes with a high-school memory of having the knife stick to the top of the cake I was trying to ice.  It was a disaster.  ”I don’t do wedding cakes…” was the response I gave in Thai to three of my dear friends who asked me to make one.  To which they responded that they just love eating my baked goods and will take whatever I can make for them.  So, what three reasons motivate me to do things I don’t feel capable of doing?

Reason number one is that someone believed I could do it. Why these friends believed that I could make something that looked like a wedding cake is beyond me.  My western friends know that on all three of these, my brain could not shut down until I got the cakes done.  The cake has been eaten now, but I had little faith in my own ability to it.  What have you done because someone else believed that you could do it?

Reason number two is someone believed in my potential. I’ve always loved the stage, but I never dreamed I would actually direct a show.  When we lost our drama teacher, someone suggested I do it.  I did not feel capable of doing a show at the time, but I must admit that I had always felt drawn to the stage.  I remember being asked to consider it.  ”I would have to be crazy to say yes,” I responded.

Three musicals later, I look back at the process as some of the most challenging and enjoyable experiences at school. What have you attempted because someone else saw potential in you?

Reason number three is love. When my son was little, he asked me if I would make him a batman suit.  I had no idea where to start.  This was just the beginning of many strange and interesting things I would create for my children.  The reason, of course, is love.  What wouldn’t we do for someone we truly love?

The answer is still, “No… I don’t do wedding cakes…,” but there’s very little I wouldn’t try to accomplish for the ones I love!

Today’s creative activity:

Write a list of the deep desires you have that you don’t feel you are capable of doing?  What would it take to make that desire a reality?  Is there someone for whom you need to encourage their potential?

“You don’t have to be a ‘person of influence’ to be influential. In fact, the most influential people in my life are probably not even aware of the things they’ve taught me.”  Scott Adams

Leave a Reply

