Day 29: How I Bring My Grandmother to Class Every Year

Standard

My grandmother died before she finished this doll.

My grandmother was one of those sweet elementary teachers that everyone remembers.  She knew a lot about children.  She had a formula to keep them happy and to help them feel loved.  Here are a few things she taught me.

Children love to play games and make things. My grandmother never really announced when she was coming to visit.  She would show up, and we would drop everything to play Yahtzee.  My grandmother made sure every child played regardless of their age.  These are fond memories.

Grandmother knew that kids like to make things too.  When I was a child, I was sick one day during summer Vacation Bible School. I couldn’t join class, so grandmother brought me something to make.  I remember gluing macaroni all over the box and spraying it with golden spray paint.  I thought this was the most beautiful thing I had ever made and still get excited when I think about it.

Children need a personal touch. When my grandmother died, my mom gave me an unfinished Raggedy Ann doll my grandmother had been making.  She would hand-stitch “I Love You” on the chests of the Raggedy Ann and Andy dolls she made for every student in her class.  It was a personal gift for each one.

Grandmother was a kind second grade teacher.  I know it because of all of the things I remember seeing around her house.  She was always making a new learning game, sewing bean bags for tossing, and collecting ideas for treasures she incorporated into her teaching.  I knew she loved kids by the enthusiasm she used when she explained her new ideas to us and the emotion she displayed when telling us about her students.

Candy speaks to children. You can say whatever you want about how bad candy is for our teeth, but a very fond memory of my grandmother is that she always gave us candy.

I now teach third grade.  Every year I do my best to make the classroom an amazing place where students feel loved and cared for.  We make things, play games, and have a treasure box with candy.  Even though grandmother can’t actually come to my class, I keep my Raggedy Ann doll nearby for inspiration.

Today’s creative challenge is to share a way you bring your past into your workplace today.  Go ahead; don’t be shy.  Share a comment so we can learn from you!

“So long as the memory of certain beloved friends lives in my heart, I shall say that life is good.” Helen Keller

Leave a Reply

