Day 31: Improve Your Brain with Musical Training

Standard

 

Making music has different meanings for different people!

I happened upon these three musicians training together in the park the other day.  I don’t know what the instruments are called or whether or not other people really play them, but these guys spent a serious hour or more working together to make some interesting music.

 

Living overseas and in more than one country gives us wider exposure to music.  I’ve seen African people play music on tin cans, recycled strings, and rubber of all types. The Thai people have a bamboo instrument they call an angaloong that makes an amazing sound.  It’s similar to a bunch of hand bells, but to play them, they must be shaken.

With all of these musical instruments at our disposal, we ought to really get more involved in playing them.  It seems that to enhance brain functions, we need not just listen to music, but we should participate in some musical training.  An article in Live Science indicates that those who have had some musical training, even two years, have better memory and attention.  So, I’d say that we could all use a refresher course in music as we age!

Today’s creative activity is to participate in some sort of musical training.  Maybe we can sing in a choir, take a voice lesson, learn to play an instrument, or get out an old piece of music we need to brush up on.  Maybe going to a concert will inspire us to learn or continue learning.  Whatever your instrument, the main thing is to get into or back into training.  What do you say?

“I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.”  Billy Joel

 

2 responses »

  1. As a musician, I really like this post. I started playing music before I could walk, but didn’t start proper lessons until I was 6. I continued music lessons up through my teen years and I can see how it has enhanced almost every aspect of my life.In my opinion everyone should try to learn how to play at least one instrument.

Leave a Reply

