Day 47: Singing Might Make You Better Looking and 3 Other Things to Keep You From Going Crazy

Standard

If you want to look better, start singing!

Don’t fuss at your children when you see them attached to their musical devices. Singing is good for our mental health.  It’s documented and proven.  So pull out the music and see if it puts a smile on your face.  It might make you better looking in the long run.

Several years ago, my husband bought me an iPod and loaded it with some of our favorite songs.  My exercise improved immediately as I walked to the beat of the music with a big smile on my face.  Scientific America says that smiling can make you happier. Humor me when I  say that singing makes us smile, which makes us better looking.

In a study of mental health institutes, findings indicated music helped relieve boredom and enhanced the environment.  In an article by the British Medical Association, the following were three other examples that helped patients’ social and psychological needs.

Playing board games and other forms of recreation met many social needs in the patients. Patients often found great satisfaction in recreation, especially when it allowed them to interact with others.  If it’s good for those patients, it is likely to help us find satisfaction as well.

Creative writing increased patient satisfaction. Doctors found that creative writing brought improvements in mental health as well.  So, maybe you’d like to join us in the WordPress Post a Day 2011 Challenge.  I find it both challenging and rewarding.

Visual arts helped patients recover. Patients were better able to manage pain if they viewed art, and stroke victims were able to improve motor skills by producing art work.  So, let’s get our hands in some paint or at least start looking at some impressive art.  Why not start in a virtual museum at  Google Art Project?

In summary, we all look better when we smile.  As research shows, singing, painting, writing, playing games, and listening to music are all likely to make us smile while improving our mental health.

“If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music.” Gustav Mahler

2 responses »

  1. Reading this post made me better looking (because your words, Claudia, made me smile and even laugh).

    I agree with all the activities you listed as all of them improve my mood when used well. I.e. I can listen to certain genres of music and it is guaranteed that I will become moody and depressed within the hour.

    I am enjoying the post-a-day challenge too.

Leave a Reply

