Day 52: Why Am I Seeing Red?

Standard

My eyes are attracted to the color red in this Chinese New Year display.

Red definitely draws attention and perplexes me. In a sea of colors, red attracts my eyes like a magnet.  Many studies have been done about the color red and why it attracts.  Here are three articles I found interesting.

1. Men wearing red attract women. According to an article on CBS News back in August, men wearing red attracted women who found them likely to have higher status and a better ability to provide.  It’s funny, because I find myself more attracted to my husband when he wears blue.

2. Red aids in “detail oriented” thinking.  According to a Newsweek Article, different colors stimulate different types of thinking.  The color red will apparently help us remember and observe details. The article shows that people remember words written on a red background over other colors.  So, I guess I should make red flashcards for my students now.

3. On occasions, the color red marks something safe rather than something dangerous. According to a ScienceNews article in November, seeing red on the back of  cash register slips is a good thing.  Apparently, we are being exposed to a hormone-like chemical known as bisphenol A (BPA), and red specks now mark the absence of this chemical.  In this case, it really is good to see red.

So, the next time you find yourself seeing red, you might ask yourself why.  Are you looking to be attracted, to remember details, or to know that you are safe?  Only you know the answer to that one.

“Artists can color the sky red because they know it’s blue.  Those of us who aren’t artists must color things the way they really are or people might think we’re stupid.”  Jules Feiffer

Leave a Reply

