Day 69: Raising the Bar

Standard

Wherever you are, raise the bar!

“If you want people to listen, you have to have a platform to speak from, and that is excellence in what you do.” William Pollard

I love being around people who raise the bar.  Last weekend, I attended a pottery show, Oasis of Mind.  An amazing potter and her students featured artwork-all of which can be used as pottery and planters.  It was exciting to see my friend raise the bar for all of us.  It made me wonder, how am I raising the bar?

Am I raising the bar in my relationships? After a meeting, I sat and pondered.  What makes some people so enjoyable and others not?  I decided that people I love to be with are cheerleaders.  They intentionally decide to say something true and positive when they can.  Why wouldn’t anyone like to be with people who support so enthusiastically?  Well, how often do I go out of my way to reach out to others? I find myself so far below the bar that someone will have to lift me up just to touch it.

Am I raising the bar in my family? Our families are precious to us, but isn’t it funny how quickly we snap at those who are closest to us?  I can certainly raise the bar here.  Speaking words of encouragement and serving my family are important qualities I want to uphold.  I can lift the bar higher for sure!

Am I raising the bar in my work? I visited my son’s eighth grade history teacher when in the States.  Teaching eighth grade takes a special person anyway, but this teacher really raised the bar.  He reached out to the students personally.  Additionally, he spent hours creating interesting assignments and presentations to hold them captive.  This young man taught me so much about raising the bar, and I try to challenge myself to do the same.

How about you?  Are you raising the bar in the most basic areas of your life and in your relationships?

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

