Day 70: What Goes Around Comes Around

Standard

Like me, this wheel has been around a few times!

 

“Judge each day not by the harvest you reap but by the seeds you plant.”  Robert Louis Stevenson

Organizations are like wheels.  They turn until we begin to see the same patterns starting again.

To get ahead of the game, maybe it’s best to think about how to handle things when they come back around the next time.  Here are a few random thoughts:

Don’t give up on passions that you can’t accomplish right now. Like clothing styles, opportunities sometimes come around more than once.  In different seasons of my life, I knew I needed to let go of some things I loved doing.  Tearfully, I would struggle with laying them aside.  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve seen how those same opportunities tend to come back around at better times in our lives. Experience wisens us and frees us in many ways.

Don’t burn any bridges. Keeping all of the doors open in my life gives me an opportunity to return to some.  I’ve learned the hard way that bitter roots don’t produce great growth.  I believe that God works all things together for those who have faith in Him.  Sometimes, even bad things stretch us for good.

If we learn from experience, we’ll be better the second time around. Learning is key in life.  Each time we accomplish a big task, we need to take some time to reflect on how to do it better next time.  We have to raise children right the first time, but thankfully, we do become better at it in time.

“There are seeds of self-destruction in all of us that will bear only unhappiness if allowed to grow.” Dorothea Brande

Leave a Reply

