Day 87: Fine-Tuning Your Day Can Make All the Difference

Standard

Musicians know that tuning and warming up can improve the performance!

One hour a day can make a huge difference if we use it for fine-tuning.  Here are four easy ways to make it happen.  These simple steps jump-start my day in a positive direction.

Wake up an hour early. I used to be a night owl.  Then, after six years of waking up early with three toddlers, I found that I could wake up first in the house and have some peaceful time to myself. Having that time helps me put my day in perspective.

Prepare for what we know is coming. In the mornings, I like to read and pray about what I know will happen during the day.  To pray for patience, gentleness, and creativity as I do my job is usually top on the list.  Visualizing myself doing my job with a smile on my face really helps.

Be open to surprises. I like to think of unexpected surprises as opportunities to create.  Daily routines need interruptions to keep things interesting.  One of my favorite books, A Whack on the Side of the Head by Roger von Oech, speaks to the unexpected surprises that come our way.  In the mornings I like to prepare my brain to accept some challenges in the new day.

Look for new opportunities. Sometimes we need to prepare for new opportunities with an open mind.  I’m sure that I’ve closed doors quickly by saying “no” right away instead of taking time to think through how to accomplish something new.  One of the best ways to find new opportunities is to go into the day expecting some. This early morning time to fine tune our brain can help us on the journey. When we expect new opportunities, we will find them.  Opportunities allow us to change, to grow, and to experience some creative fun.

“I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in.” George Washington Carver

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

