Day 92: What I Love About This Carnival

Standard

This year’s carnival is brought to you by my favorite seniors!

 

“You have brains in your head.  You have feet in your shoes.  You can steer yourself in any direction you choose.  You’re on your own.  And you know what you know.  You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”  Dr. Seuss

Today is the senior class carnival. In the past, I’ve made pies for the carnival, have run a face painting booth, have watched my friends run the fish booth, and have run the jail house. This year is different because I have a senior helping run the carnival. It’s not my first senior, and it’s not my last. All tears aside, I love this carnival.

This group of seniors is my favorite class. There are no bones about it!  Yesterday, one of these seniors saw me carrying a sewing machine and ran up to carry it for me.  I love these guys, and I will accept any help from them possible if it gives me an excuse to have a short conversation with them.  My first year teaching was with these students. I’ve never bonded more closely with a homeroom than with this group I taught in the seventh grade.

I love seeing these students take on responsibility. This year’s seniors have always been very responsible.  They sincerely care for others.  When someone is hurting, they rally around them.  When someone needs help, they are fast responders.  They support each other, the community, and our world.  I know this will be the best carnival because of how responsible they have always been in the past.  I cannot wait to see how it goes.

I can get help from most of these seniors when I retire. When I taught these seniors several years ago, the bell would ring for the end of the day, but they would hang around and try to learn more.  My husband would walk in later in the day and say, “Do they know that school is over?”  At the end of the year, I could not say goodbye because my eyes were full of tears.  I just smiled and waved.  As I have always told them, “When I am an old lady (already), I’ll be coming to you for help.  You will be my doctor, my lawyer, my preacher, my nurse, and my president.”  I have told them that I want to see the oval office when they get there.

Dear seniors, I love you as if you were my own children (one is mine).  I’m proud of you.  I can’t wait to celebrate at your carnival today!

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams.  Live the life you have imagined.”  Henry David Thoreau

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

