Day 94: Spinning Can Be Fun and Can Make Us Sick

Standard

Everybody loves cotton candy, but too much of a good thing can make us sick!

Parents are a blessing from God.  I’m not sure I would have made it to this age without them.  They did not consider my running on top of our flat roof a good idea.  It didn’t make sense to me at the time, but parents know that too much of a good thing is not always best.

Spinning dizzies us. I remember spinning in chairs and on rides. Going to Pirates World theme park was fun until I rode some ride that made me sick. Now, even  a slow spin on the merry-go-round makes me dizzy.

Spinning mesmerizes us. An amazing form of spinning is to watch someone spin wool.  At the Common Ground Country Fair, spinners spin wool using a spinning wheel similar to the one invented by Leonardo da Vinci.  Watching this process is amazing and somewhat relaxing, yet it can be too mesmerizing.  Just ask Sleeping Beauty.

Spinning enchants us. Eating cotton candy and caramel apples makes the trip to the state fair memorable.  Watching the sugar being spun on the cardboard stick teases me.  It’s amazing that heated sugar can be spun into colorful candy and eaten in such a different form.  The fluffy lightness tricks our brains into thinking we haven’t eaten too much.  Alas, spinning can make us sick.

In summary, spinning things are generally fun and interesting.  Too much of a good thing, though, can make us sick.

“My advice is keep your lips away from the spinning things.”  Adam Savage

Leave a Reply

