Day 101: Cornbread Brings Me Home

Standard

Some like it sweet, but I like the savory, Southern-style cornbread!

Have you had any cornbread lately?  My mother made the best in a cast iron skillet used specifically for our cornbread.  We had it often enough to know good from bad cornbread, and we were convinced that Mom had the best of the recipes available.

Cornbread can still be found in restaurants. Southern cooking is still alive today.  Husk, a Charleston restaurant, gives us a wave of nostalgia with its cornbread baked in a “wood-fired oven.”

Cornbread has given some a reason to sing. After hearing Fantasia sing Collard Greens & Cornbread a couple of weeks ago, I got up and made a pan of cornbread- no joke.  It had been so long since I had eaten cornbread, I wasn’t even sure that I could remember how to make it.

Cornbread, in moderation, can have some health benefits. Though most sources say that cornbread doesn’t provide a lot of health benefits, some say it’s good for dieting since it helps us keep fat cells low.  eHow explains the benefits of carotenoids in cornmeal which help in weight loss.  They explain that one can put it into breading for fish or chicken in order to add the fiber to the diet in moderation.

Maybe I’m missing home, but lately, I’ve been craving cornbread.  If I’m making cornbread though, I’m going to need to make some cream potatoes.  Who could have those without fried chicken?  I guess we’ll need some watermelon to finish off the meal, and I’ll need to boil some sweet tea.  Hum?  Maybe we’ll just order pizza.

“I don’t know what it’s like for a book writer or a doctor or a teacher as they work to get established in their jobs.  But for a singer, you’ve got to continue to grow or else you’re just like last night’s cornbread – stale and dry.”  Loretta Lynn

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

