Day 102: There is a Time and a Place for Everything

Standard

If you were sitting here, might you write a famous book like Rudyard Kipling's?

 

“The first condition of understanding a foreign country is to smell it.” Rudyard Kipling

In order to appreciate a location, you’ve got to be there.  To taste its foods, to hear its sounds and to paint its beauties bring the location to life.  It is said that Rudyard Kipling pondered The Jungle Book in this beautiful location.

For me, location is everything.  Where I am when I do a specific thing enhances the experience.  For studying, I like to be in a motivating environment.  For inspiration, I like to be near beautiful theatre sets and see amazing art work.  For relaxation, I like to listen to real nature or excellent music.  Here are a few inspirational places where I’ve been and where I’d like to go.

The British Museum in London– If you want to feel like Indiana Jones, there’s no better place than The British Museum in London.  A sense of adventure inspired me as we viewed the Rosetta Stone, the mummies, and gleaned information about historical digs.  If you’re bringing your children to explore, you may as well set up a treasure map and have them scavenge information from the whole museum as they learn about various places around the world.

The Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco- Feeling the chilled wind as you walk across the Golden Gate with a full view of Alcatraz brings out the healthy side in us all.  You’ll be inspired by bikers, runners, and many kinds of extreme athletes.  In fact, if you live in this area, you may ditch your car all together and go for the healthy lifestyle yourself.

The Holy Land- Many have told me that there is nothing like walking in the place where Jesus walked.  The scriptures come alive as you experience the culture and the places first hand.  There’s never really a good time to visit Israel, so you may as well go now.

Muir Woods at Stinson Beach near San Francisco- If you want to feel the overwhelming presence of nature, you’ll need to visit Muir Woods.  I’ve never felt so small and insignificant as when walking under these gigantic redwoods.   My immediate reaction to the sense of reverence I feel there is silence.

Perth, Australia- Bringing out the green in us all will happen in Perth.  The whole community bleeds green.  You will find it hard to get a shopping bag in any store, so bring your own.  Throughout the area, you will notice worm farms, herb gardens, solar panels on many of the houses, and a city focused on a green world.  I found myself wanting to carry home worms in my suitcase.

Italy- I know that’s a broad term, but my last “want to go adventure” would be an art inspired trip to Italy.  I’ve heard good and bad stories about traveling in Italy, but it seems worth the risk to be on location there.  I’d like to visit Leonardo da Vinci’s The Last Supper in Milan.  Of course Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel ceiling in Rome, Italy, is also a must see.  I envision sipping tea and painting something as we travel around this beautiful country.

Where do you find yourself inspired?  Do you have a location or a place that motivates you to do something?  Though Benjamin Franklin’s probably talking about neatness, I do believe we can think of his quote in other contexts.

“A place for everything, everything in its place.”  Benjamin Franklin

2 responses »

  1. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

