Day 110: Work With It

Standard

Nothing would grow under this tree; we had to cut it down or work with it!

We lived four years with this tree in our front yard.  At the time, we had a kind of hard clay under it and nothing would grow there.

I’ve had a similar situation in my work.  I love my job, but there is one area where I can’t seem to get something growing.  I’ve tried to fix it, asked for help, and have now decided to leave it alone.  I know that the growth will come soon, but it will have to happen in a non-traditional way.

Here’s how it happened at the house.

If at first you don’t succeed- I am not a person to give up easily.  It is not my nature.  Even though I don’t have a green thumb, I did try planting grass and watering.  We brought in dirt and tried potted plants. Whatever we tried, it seemed that no progress was made.  I needed some advice.

Look for someone who can help- While in this house, we got all kinds of good advice about getting things to grow under the tree.  We brought in plants, new dirt, more fertilizer, and even some sand.  We tried testing the PH level, we covered it in sawdust, and we put a table under it.  The results were in.  The tree was still an eyesore.

Go away and see what happens- We moved to another house and came back a few years later.  I was amazed with the solution of the new tenants.  The ground under the tree had been made into a lovely walkway in a way that the tree could still get plenty of water.  Viola!  A solution that worked and was pleasing to the eye.

In my job, I do the best I can to make things work.  I get advice from others, and I try my own ways too.  I have, however, found that there are some things I just am not able to fix.  For those things, I just have to leave them be and see what becomes of them.

“Ya gots to work with what you gots to work with.”  Stevie Wonder

2 responses »

  1. Such a profound lesson and reminder. Don’t we (teachers and Moms) try so hard to fix and/or improve everything? Sometimes we exhaust ourselves trying to solve what is beyond us to solve.

    Hey, can we connect Tuesday the 26th?

Leave a Reply

