Day 115: Three Reasons Why We Need a Mentor

Standard

Mentors can give courage and inspiration to dream.

“Alexander the Great valued learning so highly, that he used to say he was more indebted to Aristotle for giving him knowledge than to his father Philip for life.” Samuel Smiles

Mentors cheer and inspire.  They walk us in the right direction. They are like pedagogues who traditionally protected and reflected with youth on the path between home and school.

We all have dreams, but making those dreams a reality takes long-term commitment. True mentors can be found, but they are pure diamonds-precious and priceless.

Mentors show others that they are deeply loved.  Until a few weeks ago, I didn’t know much about the artist, Marc Chagall.  Then, I found myself crying as I watched a video clip about Chagall and his wife Bella.  Obviously, Bella was a mentor and inspired Chagall until her death.  The deep love they had for one another is evident in Chagall’s paintings. May we all have and be a Bella to someone.

Mentors believe in the potential of others.  There is a special lady I work with.  I didn’t realize what a mentor this young lady would be to me.  We first began working together on a committee where neither of us felt we belonged.  Later, we began working in the same grade level.  In a very quiet way, she encourages the socks off of so many she meets.  She looks for, or is just gifted with, the perfect words to spur others on.  She sees potential.  May we all see potential in others just as others have seen our potential.

Mentors commit to helping others.  I will never forget many of my college professors.  These guys were not doing their jobs for the money.  They were there to pour their lives into us, to inspire us, and they were committed to us.  I feel indebted to one of my professors who worked hard to encourage and give me tools I needed to succeed.  My hat goes off to all of you professors who gave yourselves so that I could be surrounded by excellence.  May we all have and be mentors like these committed professors.

“There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when it’s convenient. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses; only results.” Kenneth Blanchard

Leave a Reply

