Day 119: Lining it All Up

Standard

These poles stand here looking beautiful every day!

“Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.” Scott Adams

Often artists get the combination just right.  For some reason, the pieces seem to fit, and the public loves the work.  At times, the artist doesn’t even consider it a favorite piece.

At a recent meeting, I admired the artwork of one of  my friends.  She informed me that it wasn’t her favorite piece, but for some reason that was the piece chosen for the conference.  It seems that artists often know how to get things all lined up so that others are fascinated with their work.

American Gothic must have been something like that.  Grant Wood painted this picture using his sister and his dentist as models in front of the Gothic Revival style houses of the day. Initially, the painting caused a controversy since the man is much older than the lady.  Something about it just spoke to people.  It became so popular, even though it only won a bronze award in the art competition. Who in this day and time hasn’t seen it?  If Grant had it to do again, would he have chosen different models?

Mona Lisa is another unlikely candidate on the list of famous paintings. Who would have thought that a lady such as this would have become so popular?  For some reason, the combination of the model, the background, and the genius of Leonardo da Vinci made it a winner.

Number 5 by Jackson Pollock would probably not have been considered real art by many.  However, it became one of the most expensive paintings ever sold.  Pollock, often called “the dripper,” would drizzle, fling, and sling house paint onto the canvas.  Most often with a cigarette in his mouth and wearing closed toe boots, he would put his whole body, including an occasional hand print, into his painting.  It is said that he sometimes put chips of broken glass into his paints and flung them onto the canvas.  Again, something in Pollock’s work seemed to line up just right.

I came home tonight, ready to finish this post, watch the royals, and relax.  However, on the way home, we hit bad traffic, saw a man on the ground after a bad motorcycle wreck, and I found that I’d left my computer at school.  Most often, I have a difficult time trying to line things up just right.  So, I take my hat off to these amazing artists.

4 responses »

  1. Okay, Jackson Pollack earned me a D in Art Appreciation in high school. There his painting hung in the Albright-Knox Art Museum in Buffalo and my teacher couldn’t get enough of admiring it.

    I, on the other hand, called it “non-art” and not worth the canvas it was painted on. I said my little brother could do this with a toothbrush and paint.

    I must admit I still do not see anything “coming together” in Jackson’s Number 5 and the fact that it is “worth” so much reminds me of the days of the Judges when everyone did what seemed “right” in their own eyes. The painting remains devoid of meaning to me.

    You, on the other hand, are fearfully and wonderfully made, reflecting the grace and love of our Creator/Father.

  2. You’re so funny. I can’t imagine you would ever make a D in anything related to art. As you know, he died in a drunken car accident at the age of 44 and that could expain a lot about the artwork.

    I’m on David’s little computer if you want to call it that. Frustrated. I’ll go back to the school and pick up mine which I left locked away in a cabinet!

  3. Oh, I always did poorly in “Art” as a school subject. I could not draw, paint, sculpt or even color in between the lines…and I guess I could not appreciate someone who dribbles paint on a canvas and gets a lot of money for it.

    Now I love art, especially when I use integrate it with literature and creative writing. When I taught in NYC the museums had awesome programs linking paintings with literature and history. I would take my kids there often.The Guggenheim also set up a program where we used paintings to stimulate writing.

    Ah, New York…

Leave a Reply

