Day 126: Is it Time to Mow the Lawn?

Standard

The smell of a freshly mowed lawn reminds me of my father.

“A perfect summer day is when the sun is shining, the breeze is blowing, the birds are singing, and the lawn mower is broken.”  James Dent

I’ll have to start by saying that I’m not a princess.  My parents raised us to be very hard workers.

Having said that, I’ll be vulnerable enough to tell you that I’ve never mowed the grass.  I grew up the oldest of five girls.  It’s not that we were too lazy to mow, but my father did not believe that girls should mow the grass.

Maybe Dad worried that we would pull the lawnmower over our toes?  It was just never an issue in our house.  When the lawn needed mowing, my dad mowed it.

As a person who has never mowed, I have a few questions.

What’s your method?  Do you mow back and forth, at angles, or in some kind of a different pattern?  I’ve seen so many methods. What’s the most widely accepted? Is there a right and a wrong way to mow the grass?

Who fixes your lawn mower?  I see people constantly working on lawn mowers.  Are you lawn mower savvy?  Did someone teach you to fix lawn mowers or do you have a shop where you take your mower to be fixed?  How often does your mower break?

What kind of lawn mower is the best?  Many people think about yard work when they buy a new house.  Do you prefer a riding lawn mower or a push mower?  Do you like a small yard or a big yard?  Is there a yard scenario that would keep you from buying a certain house?

How often do you mow?  I don’t always notice when the lawn needs mowing.  I do love the smell of the fresh-cut lawn.  How often do you mow?  Is there a certain kind of grass that’s easier to cut than others?

Please send along your thoughts about mowing.

(I know you’re going to say something about my being lazy, but please don’t judge me.  The truth is that anyone who knows me will tell you it’s not true.)

Leave a Reply

