Day 127:Five Delicious Ways to Eat Potatoes

Standard

Potatoes taste awesome most ways we fix them!

“What I say is that, if a fellow really likes potatoes, he must be a pretty decent sort of fellow.”  A.A. Milne

We call it meat and potatoes for a reason.  Basically, if I’m really hungry, potatoes can fill me up.   Also, it’s not too hard to mess up a potato.

Maybe I’m part Irish because I love potatoes.  Today, I’m making twice baked potatoes, but I won’t be baking them at all.

Here are my top five ways to eat potatoes:

1. Potato Pancakes–  Growing up, my mom made the best potato pancakes.  The problem was that we rarely had left-over potatoes in order for her to make them.  If you’d like to try some, I suggest this recipe by Foodwishes.com.

2. Potatoes Au Gratin– If you want to save time, you can always buy the boxed version by Betty Crocker.  I’m not picky about potatoes-fresh or boxed, they are both delicious.  Of course, Southerners will know great ways to make potatoes.  Try this recipe and enjoy potatoes au gratin by Diana Rattray.

3. Spicy Mashed Potatoes– We once had a missionary kid make a delicious pot of mashed potatoes by adding lots of cumin, oregano, pepper, salt, cheese, and other secret ingredients.  If you need a quick dish and have a box of instant mashed potatoes, it’s a great snack.  Here’s a close rendition that uses corn and fresh potatoes at Restaurant Hospitality.

4. Potato Samosas– My daughters learned to cook Indian food with their Indian friends here in Bangkok.  We gained another delicious way to eat potatoes as a result.  The Indian recipes are amazing.  Try this samosa dish if your store has access to Indian spices.  Fine Cooking gives alternatives for making samosas using everyday spices.

5. Twice Baked Potatoes- I like to boil the potatoes first and then put together the potatoes.  This keeps our house cooler and we can use the microwave for the second step.  In a hot climate, we do all we can to stay a little cooler.  Here’s a recipe we can enjoy with all my favorites including sour cream, cheese, and bacon from AllRecipes.com.

I hope you enjoy the potatoes.  If you can’t make a pot of cream potatoes and cornbread, you’ll certainly enjoy one of these five dishes.  I’m not a food connoisseur, but I know a great potato dish when I eat one!

Now here’s some food for thought.  What’s your favorite way to eat a potato?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

