Day 128: Four of the More Than 100 Things I Love About My Mother

Standard

Happy Mother’s Day from a distant land!

“Making the decision to have a child is momentous.  It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.” Elizabeth Stone

To all of the fantastic mothers out there, and you know who you are, Happy Mother’s Day.  I am forever blessed to have an excellent mother.

Here are four of the more than one-hundred things I love about my mother:

My mother is Supermom.  She can do anything she sets her mind to do, and she will do it with excellence.  That set the bar high for all five girls.  Once I remember hearing someone say to my mother, “You can’t make that!”  In all fairness to the person, they did not know they had said the magic words. We were all shocked, and we all looked at that person with big eyes.  Of course Mom had to show him, and she made a very excellent one within a couple of hours.

My mother did not hover.  Mom had a knack for giving us space.  We grew up in a house with a big family.  We did not have our own rooms, but we did have space.  Mom never got into our business.  She let us make mistakes, and she helped us find ways to get better at not making the same mistakes again.

My mother taught us to work.  We grew up working around the house.  Since Mom was so creative, we learned how to do many things.  Mom sewed for all of us, and we would help by cutting out patterns or by gathering a ruffle here and there.  Mom wasn’t the kind of mother who had to get everything perfect.  That made things easier for us.  She allowed us to help, and that gave all of us skills.  To this day, I’m amazed that there are girls who can’t sew, cook, hammer a nail, build a closet, or anything she might want to do.  Because we were allowed to work and to try lots of things, we became very versatile.

My mother loves new ideas.  I am so grateful that Mom loves new ideas because we were constantly exposed to new things.  Mom made sure we had an appreciation for music, art, and theatre, as well as many other experiences.  This gives me the ability to try something new without hesitation.

My mother protected us.  You can be sure that if my mother heard someone say an inappropriate remark about us, she would fight.  Because we had a large family, it seems that everyone wanted to add their two-cents worth in suggestions.  However, Mom raised us to believe that we could move above all of those comments, and she showed us clearly that we are not doormats.  People can keep their rude comments to themselves, or at least when my mother is around.

So today, I want to say Happy Mother’s Day to a very special mother of mine!  May your children rise up and call you awesome!  May you live long and have the peace of God in your life!

I love you, Mom!

4 responses »

  1. What a super post! I’d love my son to write something like this about me.

    Thank you for visiting mine & leaving a comment about the purpose of education. Do feel free to pop back & leave your ideas when things calm. The link will be around for a while! http://bit.ly/mjmNmX

    • Sounds awesome! Thanks for visiting! I’m sure your son is so proud of you and all of your accomplishments! You seem like a very capable lady!!!! Keep up all of the great blogs!!!!

Leave a Reply

