Weekly Photo Challenge: Wildlife

Standard

Thai people respect and honor the elephant as they have helped fight wars.

“In the divine Scriptures, there are shallows and there are deeps; shallows where the lamb may wade, and deeps where the elephant may swim.”  John Owen

We live in the wonderful country of Thailand where elephants sometimes walk the streets, and people can feed and pet them for good luck.  Elephants are generally friendly to the people in Thailand, though accidents do happen.

Elephants are considered smart and are known for their long memories.  According to BBC News, the females recognize friendly faces in order to help the rest of the elephants know when to keep their guard up and when to continue eating.

Many of the older Thai people give them honor.  Elephants helped carry soldiers in war, and they have been trained to work as well.  Thai people have a great respect for the elephant.

I snapped this picture on the bank but didn't want to get too close!

“Back off or the lizard gets it!” Ryan Stiles

The topic being wildlife this week is amusing to me.  I’d been waiting for some kind of challenge about reptiles, but I guess that wildlife may be as close as I can get.

I snap all of my park pictures with my daughter’s little camera, so the pictures are not amazing.  Of course I can’t even blame it on the camera.  I’m terrified of these monitor lizards and won’t even think of getting a closer look!

Recently, one of these lizards fell out of a tree and landed on a lady’s head.  It’s claws were sharp so she needed stitches.  The Bangkok Post reported that she was also vaccinated because of the bacteria that may be in the claws.

How about that lizard skin?

So, I can say that I’m not disappointed that they are planning to relocate a few hundred of them from the park.  All in all, they’re pretty fascinating, but I for one will not mind their temporary absence.

We do have other types of wildlife, but that’s for another post!

Soak up some sun in the park with us!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

