Day 136: Getting Good Advice

Standard

Everyone needs a wise friend, but final decisions are personal.

“How true Daddy’s words were when he said: all children must look after their own upbringing. Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.” Anne Frank

Throughout my life, I’ve enjoyed a few wise friends.  I’m not a great advice taker, but when it comes from someone wise, I listen.

Recently, I had to make a decision, and I’m grateful for the good advice I received.  Here are several of the people who’ve given me good advice in the past.

Advice from a spouse:  I am grateful to have a spouse who sees me through all of the adult seasons of my life.  Fortunately, I’m able to ask for his advice regularly.

Advice from a mother or father:  At times my children will discuss problems with me, and I’m always ready to give advice.  Sometimes they don’t need it, but Erma Bombeck puts it best. When your mother asks, ‘Do you want a piece of advice?’ it is a mere formality. It doesn’t matter if you answer yes or no. You’re going to get it anyway.” 

My mother and father know me.  When I ask for advice, they can give it as people who have watched me grow over many years.  Ultimately, they don’t tell me what to do, but their advice gives great guidance.

Advice from a wise friend: I love to ask advice from older and wiser friends.  I’ve had several through the years who give golden nuggets I collect over time.  I hope I can be this kind of person for other people too!

Advice from a wise teacher:  Nicodemus came to Jesus at night.  He called Jesus “Rabbi” which means “Jewish scholar.”  Nicodemus knew that Jesus was sent from God, and though he was afraid to follow Jesus, he went to Jesus for help.  He needed advice, and Jesus gave it to him freely.  However, in the end, Jesus did not make a decision for Nicodemus.  Nicodemus had to do it for himself.

These advisers serve different roles and guide us through a number of important decisions.  Ultimately, we need to make the final decision ourselves, but wise counsel is a flashlight pointing in a good direction.

Nicodemus needed some advice and asked a very wise teacher for help.  Who do you go to when you need advice?

Leave a Reply

