Day 138: If I Could Save Time in a Bottle

Standard

Our family keeps spreading across the oceans!

“Time is the coin of your life.  It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent.  Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.”  Carl Sandburg

I’d say these three bottles represent the three children my husband and I are most proud to represent!  Still, if I could save time in these bottles, it would be special moments with each of them we’ve shared together.

When my time is up, I’d like to know that I’ve spent precious times with my family and that I’ve become the person that God intended me to be.  I’m impressed with several people who seem to have spent their time wisely.

Mother Teresa and many others I know like her: To give one’s life to serving others in the poorest of situations impresses me.  I’ve heard of many who go to visit on short-term trips, but to spend every day serving in these situations requires true stamina that only comes from God.  In her own words,“Be faithful in small things because it is in them that your strength lies.” Mother Teresa

George Mueller and others of strong faith: The faith of this man was incredible.  He had an orphanage and determined that he would not ask other people to provide for him.  Instead, he would tell only God his needs and watch to see God answer his prayers.  On many occasions, the children would thank God for food they did not have.  Within minutes, there would be a knock on the door, and food would arrive.  Faith is believing things you cannot see but know to be true.  I hope to grow in this kind of faith.  As he said, “Be assured, if you walk with Him and look to Him, and expect help from Him, He will never fail you.” George Mueller

Grandma Moses and those who did not waste the time they were given:  At the age of seventy-six, Grandma Moses had arthritis that hurt her hands, and she needed to stop her needle work.  She had already worked hard on the farm, but she was not a woman to take a rest. She began painting as a way to stay active.  She put her paintings up for sale and was discovered by an art collector.  Soon, she became famous and painted well over a thousand paintings in her old age.  I hope to use my time wisely as well.  As Grandma said, “I look back on my life like a good day’s work, it was done and I am satisfied with it.” Grandma Moses

It’s not really a matter of saving time but of using it wisely, with faith, and a Godly purpose.

“Lost time is never found again.” Benjamin Franklin

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

