Day 142: Mexican Food, Herb Gardens, and the Last Supper

Standard

Fresh herbs give food a rich flavor when skillfully used!

Several years ago, we visited a friend in Northeast Thailand. He commented, “You know I’ve seen people who will walk outside, pull the leaves off a tree, and boil them up for supper.”  What he didn’t know is that his wife had just gathered herbs from his own backyard for the outstanding food she made for us.

Some people are experts at choosing just the right spices and seasonings to make a tasty meal.  Most of these people make a habit of cooking. Unfortunately, I’ve gotten out of practice having been teaching school for the last six years.

Mexican Food – Tonight, I’d like to make something tasty using a lot of herbs.  It’s not easy to go wrong with Mexican food.  Cheese and salsa cover a multitude of sins, and we can make it fairly quickly in good quantity.

Herb Gardens – As I’ve told you, I don’t have a green thumb, but tonight’s a night I’m going to need the herb garden.  I’d like to use fresh cilantro (Thai parsley), green onions, fresh lettuce, tomatoes, and peppers. (If only I could keep herb gardens growing.)  As newlyweds, my husband grew herbs in our windowsill.  When he left for a business trip, I closed the curtains and didn’t open them until he returned.  To my horror I found a dried up herb garden ready to be cut and bottled!

The Last Supper – It’s not that we’ll never eat together again, but this will be my daughter’s last supper at home for a while.  She’d like to invite over some friends for dinner.  I’ll need to be sure this is a tasty meal so that it won’t distract from our laughter, our tears, and our mood of celebration.  It’s our last supper at home; I’d like it to be perfect.

After many years of living, loving, and learning together, we all have to part ways and continue our lives.  I’m grateful to celebrate tonight with Mexican food, herb gardens, and the last supper!

What’s on your menu for tonight?

“It is the food which you furnish to your mind that determines the whole character of your life.”  Emmet Fox

Leave a Reply

