Day 143: How Breakfast Fits the Situation

Standard

This is not what I had for breakfast today!

“When you have something for breakfast, you’re not going to be starving by lunch.” Bruce Barton

It’s just practical to eat breakfast, but funny how so many of us don’t do it.  As I’m typing this post, I’m enjoying my coffee.  For breakfast, I’ve just reheated some leftover Mexican casserole and chicken with peppers for fajitas.

Asian Breakfast- When I first came to Asia, I was annoyed that people would eat rice dishes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  There was no differentiation. Breakfast was supposed to be toast and eggs with grits and bacon.  It could be cereal if in a rush, but something didn’t seem right about eating rice for breakfast.  I remember refusing to put salad on my plate at a breakfast bar to “prove a point” that salad does not belong on the breakfast buffet.  Lately, however, I found myself looking more closely at the salad section and filling my plate with all kinds of my favorite rice and noodle dishes for breakfast.  I haven’t even mentioned my favorite quick Asian breakfast of rice porridge with ginger.

Hotel Breakfast- Even people who don’t eat breakfast normally find they have a high standard for hotel breakfasts.  Newsweek featured an article called “The Most Important Meal” in which they alluded to this very thing.  When people are travelling, they want a good breakfast and they want it unique.  I agree.  Many days each week, I may go without eating breakfast. Yet, when at a hotel, it somehow becomes a “right” (or is it a “demand?”) that we eat a good breakfast.

Breakfast on the go- It’s horrifying to think that we would even consider going to a fast food restaurant for breakfast.  However, I find myself wanting, even craving, certain things from fast food chains for breakfast.  If I want to start my day well, I’d feel I should choose something prissy—like oatmeal with nuts and raisins or yogurt with something healthy inside.  When reality sets in though, I much prefer a slow cup of coffee and something savory with either gravy or cheese on the side.

The bottom line is that breakfast must fit the situation.  What did you have for breakfast today?

2 responses »

  1. I agree with you Claudia, long years in Asia has taught us that salad is really lovely for breakfast! However the American in me still heads for Cracker Barrel from time to time as well.

Leave a Reply

