Day 146: How to Avoid the Last Straw

Standard

Things stack up quickly until the last straw gets added!

When you encounter difficulties and contradictions, do not try to break them, but bend them with gentleness and time.” Saint Francis de Sales

This is a stressful time of year.  I’m finishing school, my children are in all parts of the world, and the summer brings a lot of visitors.

Sometimes, I let things stack up.  When that happens,  I have to remind myself that the last straw may come at any time. To avoid the broken camel’s back, I need to pull back and take things easier.  So, today, I’m going to try a few things:

Make a short list.  Instead of making the long list of things to do, I’m going for a very short one today.  I’ll do the things that are essential first.  Other things can wait.

Stop and enjoy something small.  Right now, I’m drinking a late cup of coffee.  I don’t usually do that, but today, I’m going to need it.

Reconnect with a friend.  On Thursday mornings, I get to reconnect with a friend for inspiration.  Sometimes, it’s just good to hear an encouraging word, but giving one can also bring joy.

When life is stressful, be aware.  Step back to avoid the last straw.  While holding a heavy load, it’s hard to have the right perspective.  Today, I’ll lay down the heavy part and enjoy a few of the nice things about life!

4 responses »

  1. good advice. i am learning the joy and (surprisingly the) productivity of keeping a short to-do list. It has helped me hold back overwhelm and even get more done!

Leave a Reply

