Day 152: 4 Ways to Get the Job Done

Standard

A bag with attitude might be just the thing you need.

“It would be nice to design a real briefcase – you open it up and it’s your computer but it also stores your books.” Steve Wazniak

I know people who won’t get started with a project until they get all the supplies they need first.  Sometimes, there’s some truth to the fact that these supplies give us the attitude to succeed.

Maybe you’re being held back from running a half-marathon because you don’t have a nice jogging suit and are too embarrassed to jog.  I suggest that if you need supplies to get started, drop what you’re doing and get it done now.

Envision the end of the project.  I always say that if I can’t see the end product, I’m never going to get the job done.  With a vision, I know where I’m going and can hopefully figure out how to get there.  Truthfully, there are a few frills, like this fancy briefcase, that do help get the project completed according to the vision.

Make a list.  I figure out what I need and go get it.  Before I go, though, I tell myself when I will be starting the project.  For example, “I’ll buy this jogging suit today, and tomorrow, I’ll start my jogging program with my friend Emily at 5:30.”  In this situation, I’ll have the equipment and the right attitude to get the job done.

Get what you need.  I usually get to a place, look at prices, and debate awhile.  Do I really need that?  Maybe I can do it this way instead.  Sometimes I find myself creating more work for myself because I don’t just get what I need in the first place.  Do as I say and not as I do, “Get what you need!”

Complete the job.  Finally, I just try to finish what I start.  At the end of a book, I sometimes don’t want to finish.  Maybe it’s because I don’t feel I’ve gleened enough from the book.  However, if I don’t finish the book, I probably won’t be willing to pass it on to someone else.  The same is true with a job. If I don’t give myself some sort of deadline or timeframe, I’m not as likely to complete a job. The more unfinished jobs I have, the more stressed I feel. So, my advice to anyone is to set a deadline and just finish each job that’s started.  It makes life a lot easier.

If you find you need something special to get a job done, go ahead and get it.  It might be just the thing to get moving in another direction.  Whatever the reason for delay, get the right attitude and get moving.  Life’s short!

Leave a Reply

