Day 153: Top 5 Things to Do Over Summer Break

Standard

Ice cream and summer seem to go together.

“Life is like an ice-cream cone, you have to lick it one day at a time.” Charles M. Schulz

School break is just around the corner.  As much as I love teaching, the break part is really rejuvenating.

Here are a few things I plan to do over summer break.

Visit Family–  Since we live overseas, we don’t see family often.  I look forward to reconnecting with them, spending time loving on them, and catching up on what I’ve missed.  As Albert Einstein puts it, “Rejoice with your family in the beautiful land of life!”

Read- I love reading books that might change my thinking about the way I teach.  Reading excites me and opens the world to new possibilities.  Over the summer, I’ll dive into several types of genres and hopefully learn something awesome.  I love what R.D. Cumming said, “A good book has no ending.”

Go get my favorite fast food– Having lived a while in Asia, there are usually a few places I like to visit when I return to the States.  One is  Wendy’s.  I love the hamburgers, the salads, and the baked potatoes. A nice steak is also great from time to time.  As Fran Lebowitz says, “My favorite animal is steak.”

Go to an art museum- I love learning about famous artists, but not much compares to seeing the most famous pieces in person.  If I could visit museums once a week, I’d feel like a new queen in a castle.  Oh, to be Picasso and say, “Give me a museum and I’ll fill it.”

Create something new- It’s always fun to make something new, especially with a friend.  All kinds of gadgets await us.  The trick is to choose the right gadget, the right material, and the right idea.  Walt Disney said,“You can design and create, and build the most wonderful place in the world. But it takes people to make the dream a reality.”

What are your top summer plans?

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like you have some lovely plans for the summer. My favourite fast food place is IN ‘n Out hamburger joint. I too, like a steak from time to time especially from Applebees. I hope you have a wonderful time with your family.

Leave a Reply

