Day 161: What I Want Versus What I Get- A Teacher’s Perspective

Standard

What I want....

“Expect the best. Prepare for the worst. Capitalize on what comes.” Zig Ziglar

This is the time of year when everyone expects to get a beautiful flower garden going.  There are plants blooming in all of the stores, and we all hope to have our own little garden growing.  Like other expectations, though, there is often a discrepancy between what we want and what we get.

So why is it that reality is a lot different from what he hoped for, and how should we deal with the differences?

Expect the best. Basically, it’s great to have hopes and dreams.  The Bible says, “Where there is no vision, the people perish.”  During the summer, I like to prepare some imaginary scenarios for the year to come.  I see students learning in very amazing ways.  They are all working quietly on task and cooperating with each other while mastering all of the objectives I prepare for them.

Should I give up on these ideas knowing that they won’t all pan out?  Of course not!  My co-worker and I are planning harder than ever for an ideal year next year.  We know about reality, but that won’t stop us from going for the gold!

Prepare for the worst.  It’s sensible to realize that I might not get the results I expect.  As the old saying goes, “Don’t count your chickens before they hatch.”  Does that mean that I shouldn’t attempt great things?  Absolutely not!  However, it is great to have a plan B.

When I plan a lesson at school, I often have dreams of this amazing lesson that will include technology and hands-on manipulatives.  Reality, of course, is that some days I get to school and the technology won’t load up, or some of the students are absent, or that it floods and the traffic delays the lesson.  Flexibility is the key here.  I have to bend or I might break, and I have to remember that the lesson is about the children learning, not about my impressive presentation.

What I get...

Capitalize on what comes. I’m sure you’ve heard others say, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”  I like to reflect on what has happened and make a plan for doing it better the next time.  That’s it.  We take what comes, and we find ways to improve.  If we lose hope, how can we inspire our students?  Each year, we have an opportunity to allow God to work miracles in the lives of our students.  To stop believing in miracles would be sinful.  The hope we pass on to others is contagious so capitalize on it!

Though my flowers tend to be more like the one pictured here, it doesn’t stop me from buying plants and seeds!  How do you continue when what you want is not what you get?

Leave a Reply

