Day 163: Mamma’s Home Cookin’

Standard

There's nothing like corn on the grill!

“In France, cooking is a serious art form and a national sport.” Julia Child

Sometimes people miss the point!  The reason it’s called “home cooking” is because we need to go “home” to eat it!

Today, I’m home. In fact, I’m in jet lag typing this post and hoping that my mom will wake up soon and make some biscuits.  Can I make them?  Of course, but then I might steal her thunder.  She is the best, and I want to support her!

Here are three of my mom’s best home cooked dishes that I hope to eat while I’m here:

Fried Peach Pies– I don’t think I’ve eaten one of these in at least 15 years.  Someone mentioned it yesterday, and I woke up thinking about it this morning.  Mom takes dried or canned peaches, adds her special ingredients, and brings them to a boil until they’re well cooked and easily edible.  She makes a buttermilk dough and rolls it out into a circle filling half of the circle with the peaches.  After folding it in half and pressing the sides of the pie with a fork, she pan fries it with butter until the crust is just flaky.  Delicious!  Here’s the closest on-line recipe to what I’ve seen her make.

Homemade Buttermilk Biscuits– People ask us for our biscuit recipe regularly.  I have to honestly say that there’s no recipe.  We just make biscuits.  I can tell you the ingredients which are White Lily Self-Rising flour, Crisco, and buttermilk, but I can’t tell you how much of each thing you will need. It just depends.  If I’m making biscuits for a crowd, I just start putting flour in a bowl until it seems about right.  Afterwards, I pinch in a lot of Crisco to make crumbs.  Then, I pour in the buttermilk until it looks about right.  Lastly, I stir carefully and not too much, turn out the dough flipping it once, pat it out, and cut the biscuits.  That’s the recipe.  Mom’s still not awake, and I’m not sure how much longer I’ll be able to hold out before I start making some biscuits.

Cream Potatoes with Cornbread and Fried Okra–  Here’s something I’ve never made for my family because they’re too health conscious.  I surely hope we’ll eat some while I’m here though.  These are not mashed potatoes, as you might think, but are actually new baby potatoes or cut whole potatoes that have been peeled, washed, and boiled.  A cream sauce with milk, flour and salt is added to the boiling pot making a gravy-like cream.  We then open hot, buttered cornbread and pour the cream potatoes over it.  To top it off, I love to eat it with fried okra on the side.  Growing up, I’m sure I could eat several plates of this dish at one sitting.  You would think that I’d  have been as huge as a side of a barn, but I somehow managed to stay slim growing up.

Do you see a theme here?  These foods, while not the ‘good-for-you’ type meal, bring me the warm taste of my home.

I’m sure you have your own home cooking you miss.  Please send a comment and share them with us today!

Leave a Reply

