Day 168: A Glass of Tea, A New Book, and A Hot Bath

Standard

I'm looking forward to a steaming, hot bubble bath! What a luxury!

“There must be quite a few things that a hot bath won’t cure, but I don’t know many of them.” Sylvia Plath

As we adjust here, we’re slowly setting up house.  On first arrival, everything was so new.  We seemed to flit from one thing to another.

Yesterday, I made my first container of sweet tea, bought a book, and am ready to enjoy a hot bath.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not my first bath since I’ve been back, but it does seem that I’ve finally returned to the familiar.

Here are three luxuries I’m enjoying:

A Glass of Tea-  As you know, I love hot tea, but yesterday, I actually made a pot of Southern tea.  It symbolizes the fact that we’ve settled down and are getting back into a routine.  Sweet tea on a hot day is a luxury.

A New Book- Reading has always been a luxury.  While others love novels, I generally feel I’m wasting time to read one.  Instead, I like to read in order to learn something.  Yesterday, I bought a book about autism.  The author will speak to our daughter’s freshman class, but I’ll read it first and hope it will have an impact on my teaching.

A Hot Bath- Last, but perhaps most important, is the hot bath I’m running right now.  I’m not sure what she meant, but our youngest child told my daughter and me that we had an odd smell when we returned from orientation.  I can take a hint!  I must say that a hot bath with bubbles is a real luxury.

What are some small things you consider a luxury?

“They tell me a revival is only temporary; so is a bath, but it does you good.” Billy Sunday

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

