Day 169: How Trees Talk and Other Interesting Things I Found Down South

Standard

Even this stump carries a message.

“A man doesn’t plant a tree for himself. He plants it for posterity.” Alexander Smith

Maybe I grew up and didn’t question the little things around me, but I was impressed with the things I noticed when I got out my camera.

Southern people have a sense of humor, a grateful heart,  and the need to be practical.

Here are a few things I loved about my recent visit home:

Things I found on Trees-  What would you put on a tree?  I found a swing, a tree house, several bird feeders, and a couple of other tree treasures.  At my sister’s house,  I needed a bottle opener which I found attached to the pecan tree.  ”Practical,” I thought.  On leaving, I snapped a few pictures and found this carefully placed promise on an old stump outside our house.  These words both encouraged and challenged me to think about how trees can talk when we enable them.

The Importance of Details- Wherever I looked there were pictures to be taken.  Every nook and cranny carried a visual image that spoke thousands of words. I’m reading the book, Thinking in Pictures: My Life with Autism by Temple Grandin.  Both the trip home and this book are challenging my mind about the importance of details.  I’m beginning to appreciate how the details in my environment I experienced growing up have impacted my ability to learn.  I hope to improve my teaching as I reflect on these thoughts.

What small details encourage you daily?  Has someone put up an interesting sign that has spoken to you?

7 responses »

  1. I agree. The detail is where the pleasure is. When you clean a house, its cleaning the little corner that hasn’t been gotten to, when you care for your child, its the wonder of clipping her baby fingernails.

    The detail is where the intimacy is. Whether in personal creative work- that little extra stroke of the paintbrush-sharing something small and insignificant with your Creator or considering a small seemingly insignificant concern for your teenage daughter’s pimple.

    The detail is where the power is. That detail changes something everyday, “tamada” into something spectacular.

  2. Yes to both Claudia and Judy, although I rarely pay attention to small details. Hmmm… My husband and daughter used to bet on how long it might take me to notice some small (or not so small) detail they had changed.

    Claudia, may I borrow that book when you finish it?

  3. Wow, Judy! I never really thought of details as being full of pleasure, intimacy and power. Thanks for sharing your perspective.

    Claudia, I haven’t read the book by Temple but I did see the movie and it greatly impacted me. I will see if the library has a copy. I bet the August book discussion will be awesome. I love the sign you found on the stump. I haven’t seen any signs this week other than traffic and bathroom signs, Nothing new there. 🙂

    • I love how small our world is becoming and that we can chat and make friends with other family members throughout the world. Isn’t God good to all of us? Susan, the two ladies above work in our country too doing some fantastic work! I love that we can all share together about our wonderful Creator and share in the work you are doing in California.

      Do you think the library has that movie? I’ve got to find out. I didn’t know there was a movie version, and I’d like to see it!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  4. How awesome that you all work together and seem to have a close community. It is cool that technology so easily lets us bridge the gap of distance.The movie was made in 2010 and is simply called Temple Grandin.

Leave a Reply

