Day 177: Rainbows, Fireflies, and Sunsets

Standard

It was one of those amazing nights!

“If the boy and girl walk off into the sunset hand-in-hand in the last scene, it adds 10 million to the box office.” George Lucas

George is right.  We all like a happy ending.  Yesterday was one of those days when everything went as planned.

The ending was perfect! Within an hour, we enjoyed a double rainbow, a beautiful sunset, and hundreds of fireflies.

Rainbows– Of course I didn’t have my camera for the double rainbow that just touched the back of the quaint cottage home.  It was a perfect picture, only to be enjoyed by me!  I didn’t see anyone else with my view.  There are times when God blesses us with a beautiful sight or promise.  We don’t feel deserving to share it alone, but that’s how God works.  He speaks to all of His children individually and sometimes with great passion.

Fireflies– Again, I didn’t have my camera but wondered how I might have caught the fireflies on my film.  As a child, I would catch fireflies and put them in a jar with holes in the lid.  It only took me a few moments to realize that these flashing jars weren’t very humane.  I let them all go.  Still, wouldn’t it be amazing to have a light implanted into our palms?  Then, maybe we could open and close our hands to see where we are going at night.

Sunsets– The neighbors have it right.  On the quiet street that runs along the mountain, beautiful houses and lawns decorate the road.  Most of them, though, have chosen best.  Their properties include a small plot just past the road.  Here, many of them have purchased outdoor chairs that face the sky.  They know that sunsets should not be taken for granted.  They are meant to be enjoyed.  Now, if only we would see someone sitting in those chairs.

At the end of such a day, I couldn’t resist.  I ran back for my camera and caught a few frames of the sunset on film.

Regardless of the ways we try to add light to our world, we can’t begin to touch the beauty of God.  Last night, He showed Himself in full color, but if we were to actually see Him, we’d be horrified be His magnificence.  Every time He appeared to people in the Bible, even by messenger, He had to say, “Don’t be afraid!”

What kinds of light attract you?

2 responses »

  1. Great post, Claudia!! He is the best artist, creator and promise keeper in our universe!! I’m so glad I’m one of His creations!! Thanks for sharing! Love and miss you guys! Have a great summer!!

Leave a Reply

