Day 184: How Are You Doing With the 4 L’s of Life?

Standard

A heart full of love can reach out to others.

Yesterday, we listened to a funny commentary on NPR.  It was an interview with an elderly lady about a wide range of topics including education and how spit serves a variety of purposes.  One statement I agreed with was that the four L’s are much more important than the four R’s.

I looked online and found many different combinations of words relating to the four L’s. I’m sticking with the popular four L’s this sweet little lady suggested: live, learn, laugh, and love.

Live – A wonderful thing about life is that we can change what’s happening each day and even each minute.  Yesterday, I was feeling irritated and stopped to tell myself, “Hey, change your thinking!  You’re more positive than this.”  Maybe there are circumstances getting us down, but we can live above those things.  Like this quote, we aren’t stuck where we are.  Most of the time, we can do something to change a situation that makes us unhappy. “If you don’t like how things are, change it!  You’re not a tree.” Jim Rohn 

Learn – I love learning.  Yesterday, someone I don’t even know taught me how to make an online multiple choice quiz with automatic grading and averaging capabilities.  I’d seen them awhile, but it was great to learn something new.  I also listened online to Dr. John Medina’s keynote address at the ISTE conference about how brain research and education might work hand in hand.  Learning keeps us active and growing.  I’m grateful for this era where learning can occur way outside our traditional boxes. “I am always ready to learn although I do not always like being taught.” Winston Churchill

Laugh – My husband has kept me laughing my whole life with him.  Need I say more? “A good laugh is sunshine in the house.” William Makepeace Thackeray

Love – Finally, love keeps us afloat.  It’s difficult to work with children who don’t feel loved. One of the great things about being a teacher is being able to share the love God’s given me with them.  So many children come to class feeling discouraged, and we have an opportunity to love and to inspire them.  Because I’ve been loved, it is my job to encourage others who haven’t.  ”A loving heart is the beginning of all knowledge.” Thomas Carlyle

What four L’s do you consider important?

5 responses »

  1. I do agree with your L-s. Also would add Listen 🙂 to what God has to say, or what other people are saying 🙂 Ofcourse you could also add Lead (others to God), Leave (bad habbits and temptations), Let (God guide your life), Lift (God’s name high), Lighten (someone trouble load), Look (for ways to serve the Lord), Lose (bad habbits again). 🙂

  2. Pingback: 4 L’s in your life « Mirjam and God

Leave a Reply

