Day 185: Keep Your Sunny Side Up

Standard

Some ask for sunny side up!

“A cloudy day is no match for a sunny disposition.” William Arthur Ward

I’ve never really enjoyed eggs that weren’t fully cooked, but I just love hearing someone say, “Sunny side up!”  It sounds so positive.

Obviously others agree.  Sunny side up has been a film, a children’s program, the name of a restaurant, a jazz album, a weekly TV show, and a fried egg with the yolk visible.

For a sunny disposition:

Choose it – I find the way I start my day makes having a “sunny side up” possible.  If I forget my coffee in the morning, others will surely know it.  My morning also includes spending time in prayer and reading.  That’s really the source of my sunny side.  I suggest that whatever puts us in a positive mood should be something we choose daily.

Savor it – Taking time to think about things that are excellent certainly helps me have a sunny side to show. The Bible says, “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”  Face it, whatever we’re thinking is likely to come out of our mouths.

Share it – Words are free, and yet I sometimes use positive words sparingly.  To show others a sunny side, I remind myself to say out loud some of my sunny thoughts.  Instead of just thinking, “There’s my friend.  It’s so great to see her.”  I say it out loud.

The next time you want the sunny side up, don’t forget to choose it, savor it, and share it.  How do you show your sunny side?

2 responses »

  1. I like the idea of choosing this rather than assuming it will happen. That way we are not reliant on the rest of the world. It also means we have no excuses either!

Leave a Reply

