Day 191: Work is Easy, But Do You Play Well?

Standard

Would you like to play?

“In every real man a child is hidden that wants to play.” Friedrich Nietzsche 

Watching my brother-in-law play with the children during a recent family reunion impressed me.  It takes a confident person to play well.  Not only did he play along during the tea party, but he actively participated on the level of the children.

I highly value hard work, but playing is not as easy for me.  Since it’s not my forte, I was careful to choose a husband who likes to have fun.

Here are a few things I’ve noticed about those who like to play:

They don’t need to impress others.  My husband says what he thinks whether or not others agree with him.  His laid back personality helps all of us have more fun. When we don’t feel a need to impress others, we are more relaxed and are better able to be ourselves.  Most relaxed people are more playful than me.  It’s too bad we don’t all have this quality. “From the money we do not have, we buy things we do not need to impress people we do not like.” Loesje

They are interested in other people.  Last night, we met a girl for the first time.  My playful husband did what he does best.  He interviewed her in a way that helped her share a lot about herself.  This put everyone at ease, we learned a lot about this lovely lady, and we all laughed and had a great time.

They don’t need to toot their own horn.  Confidence is another impressive quality about playful people.  It seems they generally don’t need to boast or talk a lot about themselves.  This is something that makes others want to be around them.  They laugh, tell stories well, and make wherever they are a fun place to be.  “You never toot your own horn.” Zakk Wylde

Playful people get fussed at a lot simply because those around them wish they could be more playful too.  I am forever grateful for these people who help me relax and play.

Do you have to work hard at playing or play hard at working?

8 responses »

  1. Claudia, as you well know, I’m married to one of those fun people too. They do make us laugh and set everyone at ease. Glad we both have fun people in our lives!!

  2. Ah, Claudia, I am much like you-I work hard, but often neglect to play. I miss Jenny because she used to help me to play.

  3. Claudia, I have always worked hard, but very early in life my mother taught me to always make a game out of my work. I can’t judge myself as to whether or not I am one of these playful people you speak of, but I do know I am still a child at heart. I enjoyed you post, you make me smile when life has me down a bit.

      • He is trying but it is going to be a long road back to good health. I have been trying to come up with a user name for word-press, so far everything I have tried has been taken. How does drivel and BS sound? It wasn’t my first choice but I hopefully it hasn’t been taken.

  4. Johnnie, you need a name that sounds like you. What about something with your name in it? Here’s Johnnie? Or Owned by the King OR KidKing or something else with the word King in it? BS doesn’t sound like you because of whose you are.

    How about JK King “JK” in Facebook means joking… What do you think?

    By the way, I’m really thrilled that you are signing up for wordpress. You’ll get to keep everything in a nice format and you’ll know how many people follow you every day. I’ll post this to your facebook in case you don’t make it back here soon.

Leave a Reply

