Day 196: Yesterday and Today – 2 Unexpected Surprises

Standard

We found this sculpture by Salvador Dali in the garden.

“A Scout is never taken by surprise; he knows exactly what to do when anything unexpected happens.” Robert Baden-Powell

Obviously, I’m not a Scout.  This morning I woke up with a case of vertigo.  That put a damper on our plans, since I’ve been in bed.  I had a to-do list, but that has been put aside.  All of that to say that today’s post will be short.  Sometimes the best surprise is no surprise.

Among the many treasures we found yesterday, I was most pleasantly surprised by the Birmingham Museum of Art.  Since our city is rather small, I had no idea that it would contain several impressive treasures.  There were paintings by Mary Cassatt, Monet, and Pissarro.  Before leaving, we went to the garden to snap a few pictures.  We were further surprised to find this sculpture by Salvador Dali.  It deserves a full post, which I’ll try again when I’m well.

We never know what a day holds.  Even though plans might change, I still believe in making them–though tomorrow’s plans might be written in sand.


2 responses »

Leave a Reply

