Day 203: Three Things To Do When We Start To Crumble

Standard

Somehow crumbling is better than falling.

“My mother enjoyed old age, and because of her I’ve begun to enjoy parts of it too. So far I’ve had it good and am crumbling nicely.”  Lionel Blue

Somehow, crumbling is better than falling apart!

One of the interesting things about getting old is that the body starts to crumble.  I used to take pride in staying healthy and well, but now I see that so much of life is out of our control.

Only God knows what a day will bring, and sometimes it’s best to stay in the dark ourselves.  For example, I woke up this morning with a crumbling tooth.  (I know, it’s gross.)  What it means is a trip to my dentist when I arrive back in Bangkok.  I’m not due a trip, but my mouth begs to differ.

Here are three suggestions for when we begin to crumble:

1. Take time for repairs.  When something starts to crumble, that’s the best time to take some preventative measures.  Ignoring the issue doesn’t work in the long run.  It’s best to go ahead and make the repairs.

2. Realize some limitations.  When things are going well, we may schedule ourselves to the brim.  I’m almost embarrassed to admit how much I try to stuff into a day.  There’s not a lot of time for family and friends in the schedules I produce.  As we get older, though, we need to schedule in more breaks and times for recuperation.  If we don’t schedule them, they will schedule themselves.

3. Don’t get proud.  I’m the world’s worst on feeling that I can accomplish most anything.  When I start crumbling, it usually throws me for an unexpected loop.  I’ve been humbled on many occasions by health related issues.  It’s a great lesson to learn that we are not better than others, even in the issue of health.  In fact, it’s wonderful to be reminded that there are many aspects in life over which we have very little control.  It’s best that we turn off our judgemental attitudes.

In what ways are you beginning to show signs of crumbling?  Do you notice them or is it just noticed by others?

2 responses »

  1. I can recognise myself in these scenerios C. It is better to go for regular check ups than wait for the repair I think. Trouble is I get very nervous when I go to the check ups now!!

    • Yes. We have check-ups with our job. It is always stressful and much like a chore that I work up to and dread. Hope your day is going well. We have arrived home safely in Thailand.

Leave a Reply

