Day 213: An Interview With My Post-a-day 2011 Challenge Blog or When Will This Challenge Ever End?

Standard

Do you see a light at the end of this tunnel?

At the beginning of the year, I decided to take the Post-a-day Challenge, which means that I will post every day in the year 2011.  Too bad I didn’t take the Twitter Challenge instead, which would have limited my posts to 140 characters.

That leads me to today’s interview with my post.  Humor me if you will (both of you my regular readers)!

Question 1:  Why did you take the Post-a-day 2011 Challenge?

I began this daily post hoping to stretch myself in a different way.  I’m not at all a writer, and I hoped to challenge myself in an area of real weakness.

Question 2: What did you hope to gain from this experience?

I hoped to push myself to write and reflect daily.  I like the WordPress challenge because it is measurable.  Unlike some other resolutions, my meeting or not meeting the goal is observable by whoever reads the posts.  That gives me built-in accountability.

Question 3:  What, if anything, have you gained from this experience?

That’s an interesting question because this challenge has helped me in ways I didn’t expect.  Not only have I had a completely free method of working toward my goal, but I also gained some amazing friends from around the world.  This has been an unexpected treat for me.  I also learned a lot about the technology used in posting.  For example, I’ve learned to make a poll, to add a widget to my page, to copy html code and embed it into the side bar, to pre-post blogs when I am travelling, as well as how to link to other sites.  I’ve read more posts than ever before, and I’ve done a lot of research on various topics I find interesting.

Question 4: Will you continue posting daily after the challenge is over?

Most probably not, though it has surely become a habit.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to break this one quickly, or will I?

Question 5: If you had it to do all over again, would you take the Post-a-day 2011 Challenge?

Absolutely.  Sharing daily on a post makes me vulnerable.  That has been a good practice for me this year.  I’ve made it a point not to give names of friends in my posts, but to share the experiences I have with them.  Just this week, my friend said, “This will probably show up on the blog”–and you were right dear friend.

Question 6: Have you recommended others to start blogs?

Yes.  I talked seriously about it with one of the teachers at our school, and I encouraged an old school friend who actually did start a blog on WordPress.  Too bad there’s no finder’s fee since WordPress gives us everything for free!  Thank you so much, WordPress.

Question 7: What has been your favorite post?

For those of you who really do write a post like this every day, you know that it’s difficult and that some days, like this one, the post is just not going to be great.  There are some weeks when I write and am not happy with anything that goes out.  On the other hand, I’ve had a few posts that I felt were fun to put together.  The airplane post with in-flight questions was a fun post to write.  I also liked the idea of the High-So fish I saw in the uppity shopping mall in our city.

Question 8: What is something you enjoy about doing the daily post?

One great thing about blogging is that I am able to publicly honor people who inspire me.  Though I don’t use the names, I send a copy to the person that is being honored.  Writing and reflecting helps me remember the many ways others have blessed me.

Question 9: How have you changed since you began blogging?

I find myself obnoxiously snapping pictures and noticing details.  Since I like to use my own personal photos for inspiration, I find myself snapping pictures of things that are large, tiny, unusual, and sometimes even unnoticeable.  I’m more aware of my surroundings, and I wake up earlier to give myself more time to think.

Question 10: What advice would you give to someone wanting to start a blog?

I think it’s important to give your blog a name that reflects the real you.  Most important, be as true to yourself as possible when sharing.  Don’t try to be someone else.

To those of you who read daily, thanks so much!  You’ve made this journey much more fun for me!  I’ve enjoyed sharing my heart on-line this year, and I am terribly excited that I am in the last half of this project.

6 responses »

  1. I enjoyed that, but I know I couldn’t take that challenge. As I said in my post on face book I have been taking a break from the computer, I needed to balance out things I have been neglecting. But it will be winter soon and I will have much more time for writing, so I will keep reading your blog, learn a bit from you. LOL I was wondering why you numbered your post.

  2. What a great idea for a post. May pinch it! I took the post a day challenge but it was linked to Project 365 which is to post a picture every day. I’ve managed to post the right number of pictures but have had a few late arrivals. Not sure I have the discipline to write daily.
    Like you, it has been great to meet folks & feel that they are now friends – which obviously includes you my dear!

    • Sure. Go ahead and steal it. I saw it on some other website long ago, but just made up my own questions. Yes, you are one of the sweet ones. I really appreciate your comments! Thanks for stopping in again! I always love to hear from you. I’m still getting the hang of twitter.

  3. Oh, Claudia, don’t quit when the year ends. I look forward to your posts. And, as a die-hard English teacher, I fully endorse the practice of writing daily. I used to do that in hand-written journals, and I still do that, but not daily. The daily blog is a really cool idea that I have not signed up for…yet! Maybe soon…

Leave a Reply

