Day 221: Free Refills and Other Reasons To Keep Going Back

Standard

If you're almost ready to give up, go back and get a free refill.

“I learned never to empty the well of my writing, but always to stop when there was still something there in the deep part of the well, and let it refill at night from the springs that fed it.” Ernest Hemingway

One of the determining factors we use in choosing a favorite restaurant is whether or not they provide free refills.  Keeping us in Diet Coke is a selling point for our family.  There’s something about knowing there’s no limit that satisfies.

This morning, I listened to a sermon about a rich man and Lazarus.  In this fascinating story, Lazarus never has enough to eat.  There are no refills; in fact, there’s never an initial fill at all.  Lazarus spends his life eating crumbs and hungry for bread.  In contrast, the rich man never misses a meal.  He can eat to his heart’s content.

Finally, the rich man finds himself dead and needing a sip of water to cool his tongue, but he has no one to help him.  If only he had known that God could have given him living water.  This water would have given him eternal life.  He would not have needed to ask for water; it would have been automatically his.  Ironically, Lazarus had found the living water and spent his afterlife quite filled.

Ernest Hemingway saw the need to be refilled daily in order to keep writing.  I wonder how many of us understand the deep need for our souls to be refilled.

Here are some other reasons to go to God.  He may refill you in many ways.

1.  When you are weary, go to be refreshed.  Jeremiah 31:25 says, “I will refresh the weary and satisfy the faint.”

2. When you are burdened, go to find rest. Matthew 11:28 says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

3. When you need shelter, you will find a cover.  Psalm 61:4 says, “I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings.”

4. When you need comfort, you will find it.  Isaiah 66:13a says, “As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you.”

5. When you need a friend, he will counsel you.  John 14:16 says, “And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever.”

Today, I’m feeling energized.  I’m grateful for the refills I receive from God daily.

What are some ways you’ve been refilled lately?

*All scripture is taken from the NIV 1984.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve been refilled by the prayers of so many, including you, in the days since my fall and now in recovery. He has refilled and refilled and I am full to almost overflowing!!

Leave a Reply

