Day 225: Would You Like To Swing On A Star?

Standard

Would you like to swing on a star?

“No pessimist ever discovered the secret of the stars, or sailed to an uncharted land, or opened a new doorway for the human spirit.” Helen Keller

Have you ever talked with a successful inventor?  At a wedding, I had the pleasure of meeting one.  What I loved about this man was his innovative spirit that was evident even when I first met him.  He quickly connected with us and told us about an invention he would like to get out to some of the poor communities in our city.  I knew this man had something magnetic, and whatever he had made me ponder.

It takes real tenacity to move an invention from its germination to its final production stage.  This optimistic drive needed by entrepreneurs is a contagious quality, and yet so many do their best to stamp it out like an unwanted wild-fire.  Perhaps those closest to the  entrepreneurs are the very ones trying to douce them with cold water.

Henry Ford confirms that enthusiasm will allow one to swing on the stars.  Here are four F‘s to keep one optimistic.

1. Find a group of positive people to hang with – It’s almost as if there are people throwing meatballs at us while we try to climb a hill covered in spaghetti.  That’s been my mental image each time I’ve been put in charge of a huge project.  I don’t know why the nature of people tends to be so negative against an innovative idea.

When we have a project that we are determined to complete, the best things we can do for ourselves is to find a dream team that also wants to accomplish the big task.  Sell them on it!  Get them enthused, and let them take a part.  Having a grand time with a bunch of creative types draws me closer to a picture of what heaven will be like.

2. Fear is a terrible enemy – On my first school production, I got to a stage of complete fear.  What if this things is a real flop?  I will tell you that I was terrified for a whole day.  It was scary, because I was committed to the project and had to complete it, even if it did flop.  The next year, though, I was completely prepared for this fearful feeling.  When it came to me, I was able to look at it directly in the face knowing that it was just fear coming to taunt me.

My suggestion is to look directly at fear as a terrible enemy. Bare your teeth, and demand it to leave you.  It works just like that.  Say it out loud if you must, “GET OUT OF HERE!  THIS THING IS GOING TO HAPPEN WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT!”  Then, it will be done for you; don’t even let it get its toe in your doorway.

3. Failure can spur one forward – Several times in life, I’ve had to abandon a dream.  When that happens, I feel the failure.  It takes several days to work it through.  After a time of sulking, I know I have to get back to work.  I suggest we give ourselves a time limit for being in the pits, and then move forward.  Edison tried many times before he made the first practical light bulb (others had made light bulbs before him).  Let failure move you forward instead of holding you down.

4. Faith gets stronger with experience – After many years of watching God provide for our family, we do see how our faith has grown.  Things we used to worry over have become less of a worry.  When I become discouraged, going back and remembering how God has brought me through difficult times in the past does give me more courage to keep moving forward.  We need to have a growing faith in the tasks God has given us to complete.

How do you stay positive when you take the challenge to bring a great idea to completion?  Please share with us!

“Enthusiasm is the yeast that makes your hopes shine to the stars. Enthusiasm is the sparkle in your eyes, the swing in your gait. The grip of your hand, the irresistible surge of will and energy to execute your ideas.” Henry Ford

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

