Day 230: Does Anyone Really Know What Time It Is?

Standard

Do you have the time?

“Clock watchers never seem to be having a good time.”  James Cash Penney

If there’s such a thing as a disease that causes clocks and watches to stop, I’ve got it.  My family will all testify to this fact.

I began noticing the strange phenomena as a newlywed.  My mother-in-law gave me a lovely golden watch that had been in the family for years.  It promptly stopped within my first week of wearing it.  Before that time, I hadn’t worn watches often.  I slowly began to understand why.

After buying and replacing batteries in a series of watches, I found each one to have some sort of problem which caused it to stop working in a short time.

On a recent trip to the States, my husband picked up a cheap watch and said, “Would you like it?  It’s not expensive.”

I picked it up and examined it only to notice it didn’t seem to be working.  “Is it working?” I asked.

“Not now,” he responded.

On occasions, I’ve had an opportunity to give standardized tests through an institution.  My worry came when I knew I’d be in need of some sort of watch.  What did I do?  I put about six different types of time devices in my bag and tried not to touch them until test time.  Those countdown timers actually work best for me.  I don’t need to hold them long.

You might find this a strange and unbelievable post, but I’m just telling you how it happens with me.  Do I have a magnetic field wrapped around me that warps time?  I’m not sure, but something’s up.

Without a watch, I have to train myself a little differently.  I wake up early so I don’t need to worry about being late. I memorize where all of the clocks are in my daily path.  When I walk from place to place, I keep an eye on the clocks as I walk around.  If I’m shopping, I check the sales slip which usually indicates the date and the time.  I ask people throughout the day, “Excuse me, would you please tell me the time?”

I keep a watch in my drawer in case of an emergency, and hopefully, it’s still working.  This helps if I need a watch for a day.

Now I’m wondering.  Do you know of anyone with such problems?   I was amused to watch a story about a person whose hand had a mind of its own.  At least I don’t hurt anyone with my problem.

What kind of odd diseases or phenomena do you have to share?

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

