Day 231: 3 Reasons Why We Want Other People To Do Our Mending

Standard

Mending is an activity I'd rather have done for me.

“How few there are who have courage enough to own their faults, or resolution enough to mend them.” Benjamin Franklin 

I bought a new skirt and dress in the States that need altered.   The clothes were a bargain, but now I’ve got to do the work.  Mending and altering are both menial work to me.  “I sew, but I don’t mend,” (like “I don’t do windows”) doesn’t make sense to someone who doesn’t know how to sew.  They don’t know the difference.

Mending is important if we want to remain well-dressed.  Inevitably, we’re all going to need to hem some pants, sew on a loose button, or patch a hole in something.  It’s how we encounter these problems that set us apart from one another.

Some, unable to mend themselves, will gladly pay another to mend for them.  I believe that mending is a basic skill. We should all take time to learn to mend both material things and relationships.

Here are 3 reasons why I’d rather not mend.

1. Mending means I get out the machine, thread it, and after a bit of time, have nothing to show for my work.  I like to do a job that makes a difference.  Mending is not creative like making something new.  In fact, it’s just our attempt to return the object to its original state.

2. Mending a problem takes humility, as does mending in general.  We must be willing to serve another person if we choose to mend for them.  Much of the time, we’d rather be served than serve others.

3. Mending something is often just a temporary fix.  At times, I see dear friends in trouble.  As much as I want to help them mend and work out their differences, I can’t fix things for them.  They have to do the hard work themselves.  When we put our heart into helping people mend their problems, we often end up discouraged when it doesn’t stick.

Mending is just plain hard work.

Maybe you love to mend, and find it a sheer joy to pass the time away repairing and altering various things.  Well, good for you.  At this point in my life though, I’d rather not mend.

What’s the last thing you’ve tried to mend?

Leave a Reply

