Day 233: Would You Like Some Peace And Quiet?

Standard

Where do you find peace?

“Even peace may be purchased at too high a price.” Benjamin Franklin

Perhaps I’m schizophrenic.  On the one hand, I love peace, and on the other, I like a party.  Is it possible to have both?

My students must get confused from time to time.  I like them studying and getting excited about their learning, but there is a noise level where peace is compromised.  I guess that’s why we tend to talk about peace and quiet together.  However, peace and quiet do not need to be present at the same time.

Peace comes even in the middle of problems.  I’ll admit that I’ve never read War and Peace.  The title indicates opposites, but can we have both?  If we look at the Prince of Peace, we know that peace can exist in an imperfect world.  Where can we find it?  We won’t find real peace in a beauty pageant speech.  The kind of peace we find in the middle of problems is not really of this world.  Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

Peace can come to stay if we choose it.  I am an excessive worrier.  It is not healthy, and I know it. However, I’m aware that I can have peace all of the time, but it’s a matter of trust.  I’m learning but am quite slow. Basically, it’s about who rules our decisions.  Do we choose to allow peace to rule or not? The Bible tells us about peace, “Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.” Colossians 3:15

Peace comes from the inside, not the outside.  Even when the world is at war, some people find peace within.  My son and I enjoyed a wonderful show on Broadway, but within a few short minutes, we encountered one scary event after another.  I can say that during those few minutes, my peace left me.  I no longer remembered the show.  However, with God’s help, we can remain peaceful during stressful situations.  In Philippians 4:7, we see that peace can go beyond what we see outside and be present in us, “and the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

So today, as you go about your Sunday, I hope you enjoy peace, whether it’s quiet or not.

Peace

2 responses »

  1. The part that stood out in this was that peace comes from inside. I have struggled with that most of my life. I do hope I can start to learn how to achieve it.

    Love the effect on that picture. did you do something special?

    • You are too kind. Oh, yes, the peace picture was taken at a park in the States and I just doctored it up in iphoto. I loved that garden because of all of the wildflowers that had been kind of tamed…taken at the same place as the wildflower picture that your reposted.

      Have a wonderful Sunday. I’m off to sleep.

Leave a Reply

