Day 241: Three Ways To Be Present in Each Moment

Standard

I'm here but am I present?

“You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment.”  Henry David Thoreau 

In the early mornings, I have a routine I enjoy.  On occasions, this routine changes with certain important interruptions.  Learning to be present when these interruptions come is still a great weakness of mine.

Here are some ways I’m hoping to focus on being present:

Remember that when we’re not present, we often end up regretting it later.  It’s easier and more efficient to do things right the first time.  Even leaders need to remember that interruptions are opportunities to grow and to help others grow.  Never being interrupted is a bigger problem all together.

Remember that people are more important than routines.  On occasions, I forget this.  Someone comes to me with a need, and I don’t show proper care because I’m carrying out my routine.  Shame on me.  Without relationships and love for each other, my little routines are nothing.

Remember that these interruptions are a blessing.  It’s actually a blessing to have friends of different age brackets who care enough to spend time with me.  I count it my privilege to have unexpected interruptions from various people.  My short-coming is showing proper care in each moment.

I’d like to write more, but I’m being interrupted.

Why not leave a comment and let us know how you handle interruptions?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

