Day 249: How to Publish Your Own Book Without Really Trying

Standard

Publish your own book in a few minutes!

Teaching offers unlimited opportunities,  not the least of which are the technology opportunities available free for teachers.  I’m constantly amazed at the things available online at no cost.

Last year, our school bought digital projectors for the elementary classrooms.  In order to keep up with the times, I decided to try as many new 2.0 tools available to the classroom.  My goal was to see what I could accomplish for the classroom without spending any money.  I found more than I could keep up with and I did not spend a dime on technology.

One of the fun tools I found is Storybird. It is available to teachers and students for free.  It’s true that after making your Storybird book, you might actually want to take the option to purchase the finished product.  (Also, the company has to make money somehow, though I haven’t purchased anything yet.)

Here’s how it works.  Sign up for your free account.  Choose a set of pictures that seem to be calling out for your words.  Start writing your own story.  It’s as simple as that.  When you finish, just publish your story and embed it into your online work for other to see.   You’ll be hooked within a few minutes.  Applications for the classroom are endless.

Here’s a little story I wrote for fun on Storybird – My Storybird! (Ironically, I can’t embed it using the free wordpress account, but you can use the link.)

Try your own Storybird today.

Leave a Reply

