Day 251: Where Markets Call Your Name – A Walk Down Under

Standard

All nature sings at Fremantle Markets.

“And I believe that the best learning process of any kind of craft is just to look at the work of others.” Wole Soyinka

If I could drop back in on Western Australia for a day, I’d be in Fremantle visiting the markets.  The bustle of a Saturday morning there intoxicates.

The fresh, crisp air on a fall morning along with open-air coffee shops offer something for everyone.  Traveling with a family, we dropped our son at the skateboard park, visited markets, and took the prison tour.  Should I go again, though, I’d spend another day perusing the market.

Australians amaze me in their green efforts.  Being there makes me want to pick up a bucket of worms for composting and start my herb garden.

If craft is your forte, visit the artisans and gather ideas from more than 150 craftsmen at the Fremantle Markets. We found fresh beeswax, homemade soaps and candles, fresh fruits, veggies, handmade paper, jewelry, and stained-glass.  It may have been my imagination, but it seemed that lavender was taking root right in the market.

For a feeling of nostalgia, the market, started back in 1897, is a step back in time.  The next time you’re Down Under, take a walk about Fremantle Markets.

Leave a Reply

