Day 258: Forgive and Forget; The Amnesia You Want

Standard

I love you; I love you not; I love you!

There comes a time when, whatever problem we’ve had in the past, it’s time to get over it.  If we don’t let it go, it will continue to haunt us and keep us from progressing.

Forgiveness is not easy, but it is necessary.  Hanging on to anger and hurt does our body no good.  We lose sleep, feel discouraged, hold ourselves back, and harbor resentment.  The bottom line is that not forgiving makes us sick.

To truly forgive someone, it is important to let go of the act that holds us back.  Trying to remember something good the person has done can help.  Finding a way to move out of the bad situation and seeing how we’ve grown from it can help as well.

I’m grateful to God that he allowed me to forgive.  I held on to bitterness for too long, but I can now say that I have been healed.

I hope you can experience this same feeling.  It is freeing.

“Forgiveness is a gift you give yourself.” Suzanne Somers

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

