Day 262: How Technology Has Changed Do-It-Yourself Projects

Standard

Try your own do-it-yourself hand drawn digital cards.

“It takes half your life before you discover life is a do-it-yourself project.” Napoleon Hill

A couple of years ago, I decided to make my own card digitally.  I had seen all three of my children do it and it was high time I did it myself.

Following the steps I had seen them do, I first drew a picture of the daisy I wanted to put on my card.  I took a photo of it and opened Photoshop.  There I found that I had no idea how to proceed.  I called my daughter to help me, promising that I would only need a moment of her time, which was far from the truth.  She showed me how to place the picture, add a layer, select every section of my drawing and then add color.

After about four hours, the help of all three of my children, and a trip to the digital photo shop, I had a card in the form of a picture which I could now put on another handmade card to give to my friends.

I realize that this project for my children would have taken around twenty minutes with another 20 minute drive to the photo shop, but still, I felt proud.  After all, I can now say that I’ve made my own card.

I did-it-myself (or did I really?).  This is the way of technology.  It takes time up front, but in the end, it does put us in the world where we live.

Are you learning with it or getting left behind?

Leave a Reply

