Day 283: Three Ways To Communicate and Build Rapport

Standard

GIving information shows we care.

Bad human communication leaves us less room to grow.” Rowan D. Williams

Over the last several weeks, I’ve been gathering data to make an informed decision.  The whole process has been interesting.  Through it all, I’ve felt loved and appreciated.  I’ve also had some ups and downs, but I feel grateful that all of the choices before me were eliminated, leaving me only one final choice.

Information is very important.  I am most grateful for those people who gave me the needed information.  Simply put, they answered their emails and gave me the information I needed.

This time, I was on the receiving end of the information, but often times, I’m on the giving end.  Do you ever hold on to information that someone else needs to make a decision?  If so, it’s time to turn a new leaf.

Here are a few steps to help us all:

1. Answer emails briefly and quickly.  Communicating with others shows that we love and care for them.  When we fail to answer emails, hurt feelings are involved.  Whatever your excuse for not responding, it’s not a good one.

2. Freely provide information another person needs.  When you know the information but don’t respond, you are keeping the other person from making a decision that is important to them.  Giving needed information shows support even if the information is not pleasant.

3. Respond in love in order to maintain a positive working relationship.  When we share with others, it’s important to let them know how much we value them.  The information should be factual, but the relationship should stay intact.

If we all follow these steps, life will move along more quickly.  At times, we think the other person is trying to get their own way, when in reality, they are just gathering information they need for an important decision.

What information do you have trouble letting loose?

Leave a Reply

